Out the door at 6:40 a.m.. It’s 62 degrees and humid this morning. It’s actually foggy, I think, because I can’t see any stars or Venus. There is a slight breeze, though, so it doesn’t feel sticky. It was so dark I just proceeded straight to the Cedar Cove Rocks at the far end of the Park Beach so I could make notes by the light the Island Room leaves on all night. As of 7:00 a.m., I’ve seen no birds and heard no bird sounds. The only sound I can hear right now is the quiet ripple of the water against the beach.

I heard the first bird sound of the morning at 7:05 a.m. It was a MOCKINGBIRD that was somewhere near the Cedar Cove parking lot. I was on my way over to the Cedar Cove Town Houses when I heard it. Got to the Town Houses at 7:10 a.m. It’s just three minutes before CIVIL TWILIGHT but it doesn’t feel like it. I guess the fog is thick enough to block both color and light, but the birds seem to be on cue. The GULLS have tuned in, and I think I’m hearing some gabbling from BLACK SKIMMERS somewhere not far from here. A noisy boat just came out of the Back Bayou. At 7:15 a.m. a GREAT BLUE HERON either just arrived or just became visible in the water just off the Old Fenimore Mill Beach. As I look over that way, I feel the wind in my face, which means it’s blowing from the N/NE. I can also feel the moisture of the fog on my face, which feels good. I think the WOOD STORK flew by at 7:20 a.m., but I couldn’t get my binoculars focused on it fast enough to be sure.

About then Steve D arrived, and I didn’t do anymore writing because we were talking about what we were seeing plus a lot of other subjects. We did see a LITTLE BLUE HERON, A TRICOLORED HERON, and a GREAT EGRET near the Dock Street Bridge.

