At 6:35 a.m., my three thermometers read 62, 63, and 64 degrees. Out the door at 6:40 a.m. Stars still visible, but I couldn’t see Orion. Got to the Park Beach at 6:50 and to the Cedar Cove Rocks/Island Room at 6:55 a.m. I saw the WOOD STORK in the dim morning light. It was feeding near the canal again. When I put my head down to write about it, it disappeared. I didn’t see or hear it leave, so maybe it just wandered out of sight? No breeze this morning. It’s still and quiet.

Got to the Cedar Cove Townhouses at 7:10 a.m. I heard a few songbirds on my way over, and the BLACK SKIMMERS have just started flying up off their sand spit over to my left. It’s still dark red along the eastern horizon, and VENUS owns the clear blue morning sky. I think I might have seen the WOOD STORK flying toward the Back Bayou, but I couldn’t get my binoculars focused on it before it disappeared. Nothing but GULLS and PELICANS here now.

Got to the kayak rental stand at the far end of the Park Beach at 7:30 a.m. When I looked back toward Cedar Cove from here I saw the silhouettes of at least 5, maybe 6 HERONS, probably GREAT BLUES. I also saw a big flock of BLACK SKIMMERS in action. At 7:35 a.m., I was starting toward the Dock Street Bridge, when the ORANGE BLOSSOMS on the tree that grows near the golf cart rental lot stopped me in my tracks again. I wonder if the tree just started blooming, or if I somehow managed to miss the aroma until now? Lots of boats launching at this hour. Is there some kind of event this weekend, or is it just the Saturday morning rush?

Got to the Dock Street Bridge at 7:40 a.m. A LITTLE BLUE HERON is feeding on the edge of this end of the Marina this morning, and a SNOWY EGRET just flew in and landed across from it. The LITTLE BLUE is closer to Dock Street, the SNOWY to 1st Street. Both of them are right below me as I stand on the bridge. Just heard a KINGFISHER, so my usual birds are here except for the Island Place SANDPIPER. Maybe all the boats coming out of the Marina scared it off?

LATER: SUNSET was scheduled for 7:43 p.m. this evening, MOONRISE FOR 7:58. We got to the Fishing Pier a minute or so too late and missed the SUNSET, which didn’t leave much color behind it, but we watched the MOON come up about 15 minutes later. It was well right of where it rose last month.

