At 6:25 a.m. my thermometers read 65 and 66 degrees. I’m out the door at 6:30 a.m. I can see the stars this morning, but I can’t quite make out Orion. Went straight to Cook’s Cafe for my morning coffee, and Brian said the MOON was big and orange in the morning sky when he was driving into town. I can’t see it from my end of town right now. Maybe I’ll see it when it’s setting later.

Got to the Cedar Cove Rocks at 7:00 a.m. Stars are gone, and VENUS now owns the morning sky. Just as I was wondering whether I’d see the WOOD STORK again this morning, it appeared near the mouth of the Cedar Cove outlet, feeding in the shallow water. LOW TIDE is still to come (at 7:55 a.m.), but the water is already out a ways and shallow along the Park Beach. Now the STORK is moving over toward Cedar Cove.

At 7:10 a.m., I’m at the Cedar Cove Town Houses. The WOOD STORK is still over by the outlet. I think the feeding must be good there. The horizon has begun to color up. CIVIL TWILIGHT arrives at 7:15 a.m. A fishing boat is just starting out from the outer boat launch. The birds have begun making sounds, and a BROWN PELICAN just flew by. The STORK is still over by the outlet.

Got to the Dock Street Bridge at 7:30 a.m. Saw a LITTLE BLUE HERON in the Marina, a GREAT EGRET feeding in front of the Island Place, and a KINGFISHER perched on the #3 green channel marker. I think a SWALLOW just flew by, but I’m not sure. Just saw one with swallowtails — a BARN SWALLOW. Noticed TWO SPOTTED SANDPIPERS on the Island Place beach.

On my way home at 8:20 a.m. I saw a CATBIRD near one of the docks along Third Street.

