It’s about 63  degrees as I head out the door at 6:30 a.m. I can see ORION, so the sky is clear and still dark enough to showcase the stars. On my way over to the Park Beach I smelled something incredibly sweet near the golf cart rental lot. When I got to the beach, it was too dark to see anything so I just kept moving. When I got to the Cedar Cove Rocks at 6:50 a.m., most of the stars were fading, and VENUS owned what was left of the dark sky. It’s very quiet this morning: no breeze, no waves, and no bird sounds yet. A little bit of color has begun to show along the horizon, but CIVIL TWILIGHT doesn’t arrive until 7:16 a.m., three minutes after LOW TIDE at 7:13 a.m.

It’s now 7:10 a.m., and I’m at the Cedar Cove Town Houses. It’s quiet here too, but the bird sounds are just beginning, and I just spotted a WOOD STORK, or should I say the WOOD STORK? When I first noticed it, it was feeding way out at the edge of the low tide beach. Then it stopped feeding and walked purposefully for quite a distance. Then it flew off toward the Back Bayou, and now I can’t seen it anymore. But while I was looking for it, I saw a GREAT BLUE HERON, and then I watched a huge flock of PELICANS fly out of the Back Bayou and land on a sand bar right in front of me. It’s still too dark for me to see whether they’re BROWN or WHITE. Even though it’s past CIVIL TWILIGHT at this point, my eyes can’t see color clearly and can’t identify them for sure even though they’re not too far away.

A noisy air boat just roared through and drove the whole flock of PELICANS off their sand bar. I’m thinking there must have been over a hundred of them. They made a lot of noise when they took flight. They landed quite a distance away, but there’s enough light now that I’m thinking they’re WHITE. The fact that they flew in from the Back Bayou and that there’s so many of them also suggests that they’re WHITE. As of 7:25 a.m., I’m ready to declare them WHITE PELICANS.

On my way over to the Dock Street Bridge, I walked back by the wonderful scent that had caught my attention earlier when it was too dark to see where it was coming from. This time I could see the flowers on the ORANGE TREE that grows on the edge of the golf cart rental lot. The flowers were in full bloom, and the tree was also full of ripe oranges.

Got to the Dock Street Bridge at 7:35 and saw a TRICOLORED HERON in the Cedar Key Marina. Also heard a KINGFISHER over by the Island Place, and saw several big flocks of BLACK SKIMMERS flying over the Fishing Pier. They seem to be flying East, toward the RISING SUN.  And here it comes, right on schedule at 7:40 a.m.

