At 6:30 a.m., all three of my thermometers say 66 degrees, so it must be 66 degrees this morning. It’s windy again, and VENUS is once again visible in a clear sky. Got to the Park Beach at 6:40 and saw a lot of busy SANDERLINGS scurrying around right in front of me. I counted at least 17. I wonder how many SANDERLINGS I’ve missed by walking through the park instead of along the edge of the water? Lots of GULLS here too, but NO HORSESHOE CRABS again this morning. I wonder if they’ll be back or if they’re finished mating on this particular beach? Lots of BLACK SKIMMERS are flying over this beach and in front of Cedar Cove too, plus I can see more flying in to join them. The various flocks (if that’s what they are) seem to mix and merge, then separate and land, then take off again, all according to some perfect democracy where all comers are welcome and no one’s in charge. They are certainly fascinating to watch. The TIDE  seems HIGH this morning and the South wind is blowing waves audibly against the beach. HIGH TIDE was at 4:12 a.m., which was only a bit more than two hours ago, and the tide won’t be LOW again until 9:51, which is three hours away. It’s hard for me to keep track of the tides, but it definitely feels more HIGH than LOW this morning.

Got to the Cedar Cove rocks at 6:50 a.m.. No SPOTTED SANDPIPER. No birds at all near the canal except for one BLACK CORMORANT that’s diving quite happily in the turbulent water. As I was leaving, I saw a SNOWY EGRET fly into the marina and land on one of the docks near the abandoned building. Maybe it wanted to get out of the wind?

When I got to the Cedar Cove Townhouses at 7:00 a.m., I saw a flock of SANDERLINGS fly by, headed for the Park Beach. I noticed a bigger flock of them a ways down the Old Fenimore Mill beach. I’m guessing there were at least 20 or 30 of them. SANDERLINGS seem to be everywhere this morning. There must be something going on that I haven’t noticed them until now. SUNRISE was at 6:49 a.m., so as I’m getting ready to leave here and head down to the Dock, the SUN is already well above the horizon, big, bright, and yellow.

At 7:55 a.m., on my way home from the Dock, I saw a big flock of SANDERLINGS still working the Park Beach.

At 4:55 p.m., Bob walked in from the balcony to tell me a ROSEATE SPOONBILL just flew by. Hooray! They’re back!!

