At 6:25 a.m., it’s about 58 degrees. VENUS is visible, but I can’t see what’s left of the WANING CRESCENT MOON, which is only 1% illuminated at this point. My theory is that it’s hiding behind the clouds along the horizon and won’t be visible at all by the time it climbs above them (MOONRISE was at 6:00 a.m. this morning).

Got to the Park Beach at 6:40 a.m. and found 3 HORSESHOE CRABS on their backs. Again, I flipped them all over and watched what they did. The first two (one big and one small) started toward the water immediately. The third one, which is small, didn’t move. I’m afraid it might be dead. I’ll have to check it later.

At 6:55 a.m., I got to the Cedar Cove rocks and found the SPOTTED SANDPIPER working along the far edge of the canal again. I wonder what’s happened to the GREAT BLUE HERON that used to be a regular here? The BLACK SKIMMERS are flying around in front of the Cedar Cove Townhouses as usual.

Got to the Townhouses at 7:05 a.m. and saw the BLACK SKIMMERS resting on the beach between me and the rising SUN (SUNRISE was at 6:56 a.m. this morning). It’s a biggish flock, and I don’t see any others flying around. The only other birds I see are a BROWN PELICAN, several GULLS, and an OYSTERCATCHER way out by the water.

The SUN is up above the clouds now and too bright for me to look at. Time to move on. I think I spotted a WILLET just before I turned around, and I saw GRACKLES and a few STARLINGS on the beach close to the first Old Fenimore Mill building. At 7:15 a.m. I spotted a TRICOLORED HERON feeding in the muddy (LOW TIDE was at 7:19 a.m.) Cedar Cove Marina.

At 8:00 a.m., when I was crossing the Dock Street Bridge on my way home from a quick visit to the Dock, I saw another (or maybe the same?) TRICOLORED HERON  on the muddy edge of the big Cedar Key Marina.

