At 6:30 a.m., it’s about 66 degrees out, and there’s no wind so it feels warmer than it has been. By the time I got to the Park Beach, it was past CIVIL TWILIGHT, which occurred at 6:37 a.m., so I had a clear view of the birds. I saw lots of GULLS along the Beach, but no SANDERLINGS this morning. As I approached the far end of the Beach, I saw the GREAT BLUE HERON standing in the water off the tip of the Cedar Cove sand spit. The SPOTTED SANDPIPER was closer, across from the rocks working its way along the far edge of the Cedar Cove canal. Without the wind to blow the bugs away, I’m going to have to keep moving this morning.

Got to the Cedar Cove Townhouses at 6:55 a.m. Saw 3 or 4 SNOWY EGRETS standing in the water off to my left. One of them was far enough away that I couldn’t gauge its size or see the color of its bill. Also saw one WILLET, the GREAT BLUE HERON, and a big and growing flock of BLACK SKIMMERS resting on the sand spit near the heron, with more flying in as I watched. While I was watching the skimmers, the SNOWY EGRETS moved down closer to the entrance to the Back Bay, and I think I’m seeing 6 now. There’s another big flock of BLACK SKIMMERS resting on the shell bar over there. The water is very calm this morning, and the bugs are driving me nuts.

At 7:20 a.m., as I approached the Dock Street Bridge, I heard a KINGFISHER. When I got to the Bridge, I saw it flying around in front of the Island Place. Not much else around, maybe because we’re headed toward HIGH TIDE at 10:24 a.m.?

Went out for a second walk late this afternoon. At 5:00 p.m. I saw a TRICOLORED HERON feeding in the Cedar Cove Marina and a big group of BLACK SKIMMERS resting on the roof of the Marina condos. Behind the townhouses I saw a SPOTTED SANDPIPER perched on one of the old pilings. The tide is high enough that it’s surrounded by water.

