At 6:25 a.m. it’s about 65 degrees. There are lots of clouds in a dark sky, but I saw both VENUS and the WANING MOON through breaks in the clouds. The wind is blowing down 3rd Street, so I’m guessing it’s a West wind this morning? Ran into JUDY and TIGGER (her Golden Retriever) again this morning and talked some more about the book she wants to publish. It was 7:00 by the time I got to the Park Beach. As I started walking the length of the beach, I flushed a lot of GULLS, which I don’t mind doing, but I also noticed a little SANDERLING among them. I wonder how many SANDERLINGS I’ve missed because they were hanging out with GULLS? The TIDE is moving toward HIGH at 8:10 this morning and blowing in with the wind, which now feels as if it’s coming from the Southwest. Lots of BLACK SKIMMERS are flying in front of and landing on the Beach. Even more of them are flying around farther out. Near the rocks at the far end of the Beach, I spotted a GREAT BLUE HERON, which flew off as soon as I arrived. A SNOWY EGRET kept on feeding in the shallow water along the edge of the Cedar Cove canal. I walked around to the Townhouses and down to the Dock, but didn’t see much for birds. Maybe the combination of the HIGH TIDE and WIND was too much for them?

