It’s about 62 degrees this morning, and I’m out the door at 6:20 a.m. VENUS is overhead to my left, the WANING MOON (still 92% illuminated) to my right. It feels cool but not cold, and I feel a bit of a breeze. When I got close to the far end of the Park Beach at 6:45 a.m., I looked for the GREAT BLUE HERON but didn’t see it. So I kept on walking and suddenly noticed it walking along the edge of the Cedar Cove canal. It was moving slowly toward the Townhouse beach but stopped where I could still see it, offering me another perfect profile.

The wind is blowing from the East this morning, and it’s strong enough that I can hear little windblown wavelets washing up against the beach. I got to the Cedar Cove Townhouses at about 6:55 a.m., and when I first arrived I saw the BLACK SKIMMERS looping around in the sky just off to my left. Now they’re resting on a sand bar. A pair of small herons just landed right in front of me. They have dark necks and white bellies. I’m guessing they’re TRICOLORED HERONS?

The SUN ROSE at 7:07 a.m., and at 7:10 a.m. I can see it behind the misty clouds along the horizon. It’s a soft red this morning and, for once, not too bright for me to look at. Every morning is different….

On my way down to the Dock, I met a woman named Judy, a kinesiologist from Indiana, and her show dog, a young Golden Retriever named Tigger.

