It’s about 62 degrees this morning, and I’m out the door at 6:35 a.m. It’s still pre-CIVIL TWILIGHT, VENUS is right where it belongs, and the just-past-full MOON is still high enough that I can see it from the Park. It’s another perfect morning in Cedar Key.

As I walked down to the far end of the Park Beach, I saw a GREAT BLUE HERON standing near the outlet from the Cedar Cove Marina. It flew up as I approached, but it didn’t squawk so I didn’t feel too guilty. It just flew silently toward the Dock. I don’t like to drive birds away from where I see them, so I’m thinking maybe I need to re-route myself some mornings when I see a bird close to where I’m headed?

Got to the Cedar Cove Townhouses at 7:00 a.m. and found a second GREAT BLUE HERON standing out a ways on the wet sand in front of me. It’s offering me a perfect profile very close to where the SUN is going to rise in a few minutes. I’m glad I’m not a photographer because I’d go nuts trying to take the perfect picture. What would I do with all my still shots? I’d rather have all these special scenes and moments available somewhere in the perpetual movie of my mind.

It’s 7:08 a.m., and here comes the SUN, bright red against the gray clouds along the horizon. I wonder when the day actually begins? At midnight? When I wake up? When CIVIL TWILIGHT makes the world legally visible to the human eye? When the SUN first appears above the horizon? I guess my personal day begins when I wake up. I wonder if I could figure out a way to make my whole day (which ends when I fall asleep) as perfect as these early morning hours when everything feels fresh and new and different and possible?

I got to the Dock Street Bridge at 7:25 a.m. and saw a GREAT EGRET standing in the water in front of the Island Place.When I was scanning the mud flat under the bridge hoping to see another bird, I saw little squirts of water coming up here and there. I wonder what kind of mud dweller does that? A clam? An oyster? Another mystery for me…. Plus I saw a SPOTTED SANDPIPER.

MID-MORNING: I noticed a lot of big white birds flying over the mangroves behind the condo. Five landed close enough that I could see them with my binoculars: WHITE IBISES. The others landed in the distance, and through Bob’s scope I could see straight bills. I’m guessing they were a mix of GREAT and SNOWY EGRETS?

NOON: When I was walking home from the grocery store, I saw TWO BALD EAGLES flying in high circles above the Back Bayou near Fishbonz. There were other birds up there too. I think some might have been HAWKS and some might have been VULTURES? I wish I could learn to identify high-flying birds on sight. Someday, maybe….

