It’s warmer today, 51 degrees at 5:45 a.m. CIVIL TWILIGHT begins at 6:59 a.m., SUNRISE at 7:26 a.m., SUNSET at 5:44 p.m. The MOON rose at 2:49 a.m., a waning crescent 23% illuminated. It will set at 1:45 p.m. LOW TIDE at 3:43 a.m., HIGH at 10:26 a.m., LOW at 3:09 p.m., and HIGH again at 9:07 p.m.

At 6:15 a.m. the CRESCENT MOON is just barely visible through the clouds. I welcome the warmer te,perature, but yesterday’s cold crisp clarity was a treat…. At 7:07 a.m. CIVIL TWILIGHT is doing some pretty spectacular things with with red. The color has been evolving since I first came out. Before civil twilight it was red streaks and long dark clouds. Now it’s a red glow lighting up both the long dark clouds and the scallopy undersides of a lot of other clouds up a little higher. This is one of the most interesting sunrises I’ve watched this year. I can’t take my eyes off the sky because the light and color keep changing. The SUNRISE itself was kind of anti-climactic after the shifting light and colors that preceded it.

At 7:40 a.m. I started walking down the Park Beach and 4 SMALL SHOREBIRDS immediately flew up from the edge of the water. A ways down the beach I saw a SANDERLING, which is probably what the other four were too. At 7:45 a.m., I saw the SPOTTED SANDPIPER that I often see on the Cedar Cove rocks. Next I heard and saw a KINGFISHER in the Cedar Cove Marina. At 7:50 a.m. I find it cold and windy behind the Cedar Cove Townhouses this morning. I saw 2 WILLETS, numerous GULLS, and a few BROWN PELICANS but no GREAT BLUE HERON. Oh well, at least I’m here looking.

At 3:45 p.m. Bob and I heard and saw a noisy airboat messing around behind our condo and watched it scare up a biggish flock of BLACK-CROWNED NIGHT HERONS. I counted over a dozen, maybe 15 or 16. I’ve never seen a flock of NIGHT HERONS, only solitaries, but Bob says they do congregate in sizable numbers on one of the Four Brothers Islands and give Mark LaBarr’s COMMON TERNS a lot of trouble.

