38 degrees at 7:00 a.m. CIVIL TWILIGHT began at 6:59 a.m., SUNRISE at 7:25 a.m., SUNSET at 5:43 p.m., MOON ROSE just after midnight at 12:41 a.m. and will set just after noon at 12:23 p.m. It’s now a waning crescent 44% illuminated. LOW TIDE at 1:08 a.m., HIGH at 7:13 a.m., LOW again at 1:00 p.m., and HIGH at 7:14 p.m.

I’m getting a late start this morning. It’s already after 7:00 a.m. An OSPREY flew off the utility pole along the old railroad bed again today. MOON very visible in the morning sky, slightly less than half now. The bright star or planet (?) is there again too, always bright and always in the same place. Decided to head straight down to the Dock for coffee this morning. As I was crossing the Dock Street Bridge, I spotted a DIVING DUCK near the channel markers. It had a dark head, white marks on either side of its bill, a small white mark near its tail (or maybe on its wingtips?), and a speckledy gray back. I saw about 10 SCAUP out in the water between the end of the Gulfside Motel’s fishing pier and Atsena Otie. A small HERON just landed in front of where I’m standing. It has a blue chest and white belly. At 7:30 a.m. a small flock of SNOWY EGRETS flew over, headed in the direction of the Back Bayou behind our condo. Now the DIVING DUCK with the WHITE PARENTHESES near its bill has moved over to the Marina side of the Bridge. It’s now just floating around not doing as much diving. Its HEAD might be DARK BROWN. At 7:45 a.m. I heard a KINGFISHER, and the HERON with the BLUE CHEST moved over to the Marina side too. With the sun on its chest, the bottoms of the blue chest feathers look BROWNISH. Just noticed a YELLOW-CROWNED NIGHT HERON poking along the mud near the north side of the Marina. At 7:50 a.m. I switched back to the Gulf side of the bridge and saw a SPOTTED SANDPIPER working the edge of the water in front of the Island Place. Good birding right here at the Bridge this morning. Back on the Marina side, I now see a GREAT BLUE HERON on the south side of the water. It’s standing perfectly still with its head pulled down to its shoulders.

At 8:05 a.m., as I was headed back toward Cedar Cove, I spotted a SANDERLING feeding on the Park Beach. Saw a WILLET too, and enough different-size GULLS with different plumages to tempt me to start in on distinguishing them too…. As I was walking through the Cedar Cove parking lot, I heard a CAROLINA WREN, the first one I’ve heard here this year. Got to the Cedar Cove Townhouses at 8:17 a.m. I saw GULL resting on the closest sand spit. Also noticed a WILLET and a SANDERLING feeding on the beach in front of the Old Fenimore Mill condos and a GREAT BLUE HERON perched on one of the old pilings.

When I was walking back toward the parking lot, a HUGE RED BUS-SIZE RV caught my eye. I had to check it out. It’s a Prevost Private Coach Le Mirage XL II with a North Carolina license plate that says HIROLLER. Talk about conspicuous consumption….

At 8:26 a.m. I spotted a KINGFISHER perched on a post in the water right at the end of the Cedar Cover Marina canal. At 8:45 a.m., both the GREAT BLUE HERON and the YELLOW CROWNED NIGHT HERON are still at the Cedar Key Marina not far from where I saw them an hour ago. Back at Natures Landing at 8:55 a.m., I noticed a GREAT BLUE HERON perched on the corner of the roof on the C building. At 9:15 a.m. I saw 2 KILLDEER back on the mudflat behind our condo. Also saw 2 BALD EAGLES flying low over the mudflats.

At 3:00 p.m., Bob and I decided to take a walk behind Natures Landing. We saw 5 KILLDEER, 2 WHITE IBISES, and 1 PALM WARBLER.

