35 degrees at 6:40 a.m. CIVIL TWILIGHT begins at 6:58 a.m. SUNRISE at 7:25 a.m., SUNSET at 5:42 p.m. Last night’s MOON won’t set until 11:47 a.m., and today’s, which begins the LAST QUARTER at 11:30 p.m., won’t rise until after midnight — at 12:41 a.m. LOW TIDE at midnight, HIGH at 5:52 a.m., LOW  again at 12:10 p.m., and HIGH at 6:26 p.m.

At 7:00 a.m. I could still see a HALF MOON, which is what the LAST or FIRST QUARTER looks like. VENUS was there too. As I was walking down the old railroad bed, an OSPREY called and flew off the top of a utility pole located about halfway down the bark chip path on the left. Either it or a second OSPREY called again as I walked toward the Cedar Cove parking lot. It flew too. When I turned the corner to walk down to the Cedar Cove Townhouses, a GREAT BLUE HERON flew across in front of me headed toward the Cedar Cove Marina. It kept on flying, made a big loop around the Townhouses, across the small beach in front of them, and landed a ways down the beach in a big puddle in front of the first Old Fenimore Mill building. When I looked the other way, I noticed 4 SCAUP swimming in front of the Cedar Key Beach. As I was leaving the Townhouses, the GREAT BLUE HERON flew in front of me again. It had made a complete loop and returned to the little catch pool in the dip between Cedar Cove and Old Fenimore Mill. So I flushed it twice from where it wanted to be.

At 7:30 a.m. another OSPREY called and flew off a lampost when I was walking down 1st Street. When I got to the Cedar Key Marina I noticed a GREAT BLUE HERON standing in the mud beside the water in the Marina. A flock of EGRETS and maybe a few STORKS (?) flew overhead headed toward the Back Bayou. Got to Kona Joe’s at 7:45 a.m. It’s COLD this morning, too cold for comfort. It’s gotten through all my layers and into my bones. Guess I’ll take my good hot coffee and race home….

At 3:30 p.m., I’m back over at the Cedar Cove Townhouses to check on the birds. I saw a bunch of GULLS resting on the beach in front of the Townhouses with their heads tucked back under their wings. Also  2 BLACK SKIMMERS with their heads not tucked under their wings. A GREAT BLUE HERON just flew in. When I got back to our condo, Bob pointed out 2 KILLDEER in the muddy flat we can see out our back window. The tide was coming back in, but the mudflat was still visible.

