The Weather Channel says it’s 36 degrees this morning. CIVIL TWILIGHT begins at 6:52 a.m., SUN RISES at 7:18 a.m., the MOON has set and won’t rise again until 12:55 p.m., a waxing gibbous 61% illuminated. LOW TIDE at 1:44a.m., HIGH at 7:47 a.m., LOW again at 1:26 p.m., and HIGH again at 7:55 p.m.

When I went out at 6:45 a.m., VENUS was high and bright in a cloudless sky. At 6:58 a.m., from the wooden walkway behind the Island Room, I saw a GREAT BLUE HERON standing in the shallow water out a ways from the Cedar Cove Townhouse beach. The only other birds I see right now are GULLS. No, I take that back: a huge flock of CORMORANTS just flew by, and I just noticed a small flock of DUCKS bobbing in the water in front of the Park Beach. At 7:10 a.m., from behind the Cedar Cove Townhouses, I saw a few BLACK SKIMMERS way out on the tip of a distant sand flat. A GREAT BLUE HERON just flew by headed toward the Dock. My hands are too cold to write this morning, even with my gloves on….

