CIVIL TWILIGHT begins at 6:51 a.m. and the SUN will rise at 7:17 a.m. and set at 5:36 p.m. The MOON will reach its first quarter at 8:59 a.m. and rise at 12:25 p.m. LOW TIDE at 12:38 a.m., HIGH at 6:27 a.m., LOW again at 12:36 a.m., HIGH again at 7:08 p.m.

At 6:40 a.m. VENUS is still high in the sky. I wonder how long it will stay there? Is it the MORNING STAR, or is it just in a position in its orbit that Earthlings have a good view of it in the morning sky? The WIND blew hard all night. It seems a bit calmer this morning, but it’s still blowing. Yesterday it was in my face. Today it’s at my back.

At 6:58 a.m. 8 BLACK SKIMMERS ARE RESTING ON THE SAND AT THE WATER’S EDGE BEHIND THE CEDAR COVE TOWNHOUSES. I’VE NEVER SEEN SUCH A SMALL GROUP OF THEM. At 7:15 a.m. I saw an OSPREY perched on a lamp post near the parking lot across from the hardware store. At 7:20 a.m. I heard and saw a KINGFISHER working the Dock Street Bridge area and saw 3 DUCKS bobbing around in the windy water. I need to read up on what species they are.

At 7:35 a.m., I’m sitting upstairs at the Rusty Rim, watching the 3 DUCKS and a DOLPHIN. The DOLPHIN seems to be hanging out in the shallow water near the Gulfside Motel Dock. All I’m seeing is its dorsal fin. A big DOVE just landed on the downstairs porch. I need to read up on Cedar Key’s DOVES too. A flock of WHITE HERONS or EGRETS just flew by in the distance. They might have been flying around the far end of the island to the Back Bayou. Maybe the Rusty Rim is right on the flight path from Sea Horse Key to the Back Bayou? The HERONS/EGRETS were too far away to tell their size or see their field marks. I also need to read up on Cedar Key’s HERONS and EGRETS….

Just heard a tidbit from the Weather Channel, which they have the TV tuned to at the Rusty Rim: The wind is W/NW at 40 mph.

