It’s warmer this morning. CIVIL TWILIGHT begins at 6:50 a.m., SUNRISE at 7:16 a.m., SUNSET at 5:35 p.m. MOONRISE at 11:27 a.m., waxing crescent 33% illuminated. HIGH TIDE at 4:25 a.m., LOW at 11:16 a.m., HIGH again at 5:48 p.m., and LOW again at 11:39 p.m.

At 6:45 a.m. VENUS is still high in the sky. I saw a WILLET walking along the Park Beach, an OSPREY perched on the stake where I often see it, and BLACK SKIMMERS swirling around out a ways. I saw a SPOTTED SANDPIPER working the far end of the beach a short distance from the Cedar Cove rocks where I usually see it.

I’m standing behind the Cedar Cove Townhouses at 7:10 a.m. Not much wind this morning, and the air feels warmer than it has been. At 7:20 a.m., the SUN is up with low clouds covering most of it. I see a GREAT BLUE HERON standing on the rocks in front of the closest Old Fenimore Mill condo building.

From the DOCK STREET BRIDGE AT 7:35 a.m., I saw GRACKLES and DOVES, 1 small white EGRET with a black bill and yellow feet (SNOWY EGRET), 1 GREAT BLUE HERON, and 1 big EGRET with a yellow bill (GREAT EGRET).

Later this morning Bob and I went out to the Shell Mound to walk the DENNIS CREEK TRAIL. As we approached the Observation Deck, a biggish flock of HOODED MERGANSERS flushed. I caught just a glimpse of the handsome males. We also spotted a group of WHITE IBISES close to shore. Some were white, some brown. There were numerous GREAT EGRETS hanging around the pond, and we heard a KINGFISHER in the distance. As we walked on we noticed that the cedars are FULL of blue “berries.” An ATV roared by us and nearly pushed us off the trail just before we got to Dennis Creek. I have no idea what it was doing out here, but it didn’t belong. Got to the Creek at 11:00. Saw and heard a KINGFISHER flying around and calling. A shorebird flushed when we approached the water. Bob thinks it was a KILLDEER. Got back to the car at 12:05 p.m. The Dennis Creek Trail is definitely one of my favorite walks.

