It’s 45 degrees F at 5:45 a.m., so it’s actually COLD this morning! How long will this last? It feels good for a change. Heard CHICKADEES but not much else for birdsong out in front of the house. I can hear some sounds in the distance but nothing I can identify. As I was starting up into the field toward Bob’s Pond, I heard a MOURNING DOVE, HERMIT THRUSH, and GOLDFINCH. The MOON is visible this morning — a waning gibbous. There’s MIST rising from the Pond. From the Thinking Bench I heard a BLUE JAY, ROBIN, and SCARLET TANAGER. From the Fallen Hemlock I heard a RED-EYED VIREO. A ways farther on, I paused to lean against my new Leaning Tree just as I started down toward the Stone Crossing. Got to the Stone Crossing at 6:30 a.m. Sitting in this special place, I heard two HERMIT THRUSHES serenading me, then a GREAT CRESTED FLYCATCHER. When I headed on downhill, I heard a CROW in the distance and an ALDER FLYCATCHER singing from the Saxtons’ Meadow. I think I saw a ROSE-BREASTED GROSBEAK on the road when I was almost home.

