At 5:30 a.m. it’s 64 degrees, but the breeze makes it feel cooler than that. Maybe I can manage to make myself take a walk this morning. First birds I heard were a ROBIN, PHOEBE (two of them), a COMMON YELLOWTHROAT, and a HOUSE WREN. From the woods near Bob’s Pond, I heard a WINTER WREN. Sitting on the Eagle Scout’s Bench at the far end of the pond at 5:45 a.m., I feel more like sitting than walking this morning. My right leg is stressed, so I’m moving very slowly, but at least I’m moving. Just heard a GOLDFINCH. Maybe I can focus on finding some new sitting stations to motivate this walk? The view from the Eagle Scout’s Bench isn’t very inspiring, but it’s a good place to listen for birds hanging around Charlie’s feeders and the edgy woods that separate the Birds of Vermont Museum’s property from Charlie’s and Audubon’s. As I started up toward my Thinking Bench, I heard a WOOD THRUSH and a BLUE JAY. Got to the Thinking Bench at 5:55 a.m. Noticed a small RED EFT just as I sat down. Now I’m hearing a HERMIT THRUSH, which makes me question whether I heard a WOOD THRUSH before? Just heard a CHICKADEE. When I started into the woods above the Thinking Bench I found a good new sitting station a short ways up. I’ve named it the Fallen Hemlock. Sitting on it, I heard more than one HERMIT THRUSH but not a WOOD THRUSH. Moving on, I finally heard a WOOD THRUSH, so they’re definitely around too. Also heard a RED-EYED VIREO. I didn’t feel like hiking any higher so I cut over to the logging road and up just as far as the trail to the Stone Crossing. I think there’s more than one WOOD THRUSH in this area. I found a good Leaning Tree near the beginning of the Stone Crossing Trail. It’s a big maple. Got to the Stone Crossing at 6:20 a.m. Heard five species I had already heard and added a BLUE-HEADED VIREO. I’m exhausted. I think I’ve totally worn myself out worrying about Bob and myself and my life and numerous other things. Moving on and heading downhill, I heard a WHITE-THROATED SPARROW and from Saxtons’ Meadow, I heard a SONG SPARROW. My grand total for this morning’s short walk was only 13 species, but I found two new places to pause and listen. Got home at 7:00 a.m.

