At 5:20 a.m., it’s already 63 degrees, and I don’t feel at all like going for a walk. From my Stone Wall, I heard a HOUSE WREN, PHOEBE, and OVENBIRD, and realized that I really, really don’t want to take a walk this morning, but I’m going to MAKE myself take at least a short one. I wandered down the road toward the Museum and added a CHICKADEE, BLUE JAY, and ROBIN to my list. When I got to the Saxtons’ Meadow, I heard a SONG SPARROW, and it started sprinkling, which gave me almost enough of an excuse to quit this walk right then. But I turned around and started back toward my trail system, when all of a sudden it started raining in earnest, which saved me from having to make any more decisions. Home free! I have not taken a good walk since the day before Bob’s second surgery, and I’m not sure I’m going to be able to resume them anytime soon. I’m exhausted and discouraged by the heat and my post-surgical responsibilities. I give up.

