Leaving the house at 5:35 a.m. It’s only 45 degrees out this morning after yesterday’s 60 degrees. From my Stone Wall I heard a CHESTNUT-SIDED WARBLER, BLUE JAY. OVENBIRD, GREAT CRESTED FLYCATCHER, TUFTED TITMOUSE, COMMON YELLOWTHROAT, ROBIN, ROSE-BREASTED GROSBEAK, and VEERY. The MOON is visible again this morning, looking more clearly like a waning gibbous. I think I’m hearing a BROAD-WINGED HAWK again near Bob’s Pond, but it’s way down at the other end. When I got to the far end of the pond, I could definitely hear it, but it was hiding and I never saw it. Also heard a SONG SPARROW and RED-EYED VIREO near the pond. I heard the BROAD-WINGED HAWK even more clearly on my way up to the Thinking Bench. I think it’s hiding in the Audubon woods. From the Thinking Bench I heard a NUTHATCH, JUNCO, HERMIT THRUSH, and a MOURNING DOVE in the distance. Started into the woods at precisely 6:00 a.m. with the intention of seeing how long it would take me to stroll up to Cote’s Boundary. It took me exactly 14 minutes, during which I noted that partridge berries are in bloom and heard five additional bird songs: WINTER WREN, WOOD THRUSH, BROWN CREEPER, BLACK-THROATED BLUE WARBLER. I think I prefer the slower pace. From my Sitting Root, I heard a PEWEE and more than one woodpecker. I need to work on my WOODPECKERS, their drumming patterns, their whinnies, and their calls. I think I’m hearing the both a DOWNY and a PILEATED, but I’m not certain enough to count them. I also think I just heard a CHURRY, CHURRY from up in the open sunny patch on Cote’s property. Is there a MOURNING WARBLER way up here now? I heard it only once, and it caught me by surprise, so I don’t dare count it. Moving on: BLUE-HEADED VIREO, YELLOW-BELLIED SAPSUCKER. From my Leaning Rock I hear a LEAST FLYCATCHER and a REDSTART. I wonder if I could find something as interesting and satisfying to to in the evening as taking these walks in the morning is? I guess I could READ — but only self-propelling materials. No more doggedly disciplining myself through what I think I OUGHT to be reading. Moving on: Finally spotted a MOOSE TRACK in a muddy spot along the logging road. I was hoping they were still wandering through. Glad I’m still on one of their routes. Found more tracks as I kept walking, and they look relatively fresh. Noticed an AGITATED OVENBIRD fussing from a small tree beside the logging road, so I tiptoed very carefully through that section, watching for the nest it was worried about. I didn’t see it, but the bird quit fussing as I moved away from where it was. Near the bend where the logging road, where it starts downhill, I’m hearing a loud WOOD THRUSH. Either the same WOOD THRUSH is following me downhill, or there’s more than one. I’ve now turned the corner at Malfunction Junction and the second corner where the Crossover Road meets the main logging road, and I’m still hearing a WOOD THRUSH. When I stopped and listened closely, I heard one on my left and one on my right, so there are at least TWO WOOD THRUSHES up here in the middle of these woods. Also heard a BLACK-THROATED GREEN WARBLER. Got to the Stone Crossing at 7:10 a.m. Now I’m hearing 2 or possibly 3 WOOD THRUSHES plus six other species. This is a lovely spot to sit and listen. Moving on: I was still hearing a WOOD THRUSH all the way down the hill almost to the Saxtons’ View Power Bench. From the Saxtons’ Meadow I heard a SONG SPARROW and GOLDFINCH, and from the woods I heard a CHICKADEE. Heard and saw numerous GRACKLES near the Museum. The MOON is still just barely visible in an almost cloudless blue sky. On my way back to the house, I caught a glimpse of a brilliant orange male ORIOLE. Nice way to end my 2 hour+ walk. Home at 7:40 a.m.

