At 5:30 a.m. it’s 62 degrees, humid, and misty. Heard a VEERY out my bedroom window this morning before I started my walk. From my Stone Wall and along the road in front of my house, I heard a HOUSE WREN, COMMON YELLOWTHROAT, CHICKADEE, BLUE JAY, and CHESTNUT-SIDED WARBLER. Starting up into the field, I heard a PHOEBE, saw a TREE SWALLOW, and heard a ROBIN, TUFTED TITMOUSE, and OVENBIRD. When I first got to Bob’s Pond, I saw 2 WOOD DUCKS — either females or young. I heard a LOUISIANA WATERTHRUSH singing near the pond this morning, which is a first. Also heard a GREAT CRESTED FLYCATCHER,  YELLOW-BELLIED SAPSUCKER, and a WOODPECKER. In the woods above my Thinking Bench, I heard a BLUE-HEADED VIREO, RED-EYED VIREO, ROSE-BREASTED GROSBEAK, BLACK-THROATED BLUE WARBLER, BLACK-THROATED GREEN WARBLER, and REDSTART. From my Thinking Bench to my Sitting Root, it takes me a bit more than 15 minutes of climbing uphill, much of that time huffing and puffing. From my Sitting Root, I heard a PEWEE and a JUNCO. Moving on, I found my Leaning Rock cool against my sweating back and wet against my butt, but a lovely place to be at 6:15 a.m. Heard a WOOD THRUSH and a LEAST FLYCATCHER. Moving on, I might be hearing a PILEATED WOODPECKER calling from over near the Saxtons’ Boundary, down a short distance from the back corner. Moving on, I heard a WINTER WREN. From the Stone Crossing at 6:35 a.m., I heard a second Rose-breasted Grosbeak, a HERMIT THRUSH, another Ovenbird, a SCARLET TANAGER (from a distance), another Winter Wren and Red-eyed Vireo. As I headed downhill, I heard a BROWN CREEPER, SONG SPARROW, and RED-WINGED BLACKBIRD. Home at 7:00 a.m.

