It’s 5:00 a.m. and 32 degrees out. I’m standing at my stone wall listening to the birds: a PHOEBE, COMMON YELLOWTHROAT, HOUSE WREN, ROSE-BREASTED GROSBEAK, CHICKADEE, and ROBIN. When I started down the road I added an OVENBIRD, VEERY, and YELLOW-BELLIED SAPSUCKER. Halfway to Blood’s I heard the LOUISIANA WATERTHRUSH and a BLACK-THROATED BLUE. From Blood’s clearing I heard a CHESTNUT-SIDED WARBLER. Halfway to the Brook Trail I picked up a BLACK-THROATED GREEN and a BLUE JAY in the distance. At the Brook Trail crossing I heard a WINTER WREN, HERMIT THRUSH and RED-EYED VIREO. Got to the Nature Center’s driveway at 5:30 a.m. and heard a GOLDFINCH and a SOLITARY (BLUE-HEADED) VIREO (I think). On my way up to the Lookout I heard a MOURNING DOVE and a YELLOW-RUMP. Got to the Lookout at 5:50 a.m. It’s too cold to sit here. Not much wind, just COLD! Got to Lichen Rock at 6:10 a.m. It’s cold here too, but a HERMIT THRUSH is singing, and I heard a WINTER WREN on my way over here. When I was almost back to the road, I heard a REDSTART — first of season. Got to the road at 6:20 a.m. and heard a TUFTED TITMOUSE. I saw a GRAY SQUIRREL run across the road near the Brook Trail crossing. Also heard a SCARLET TANAGER in this area and a BROWN CREEPER a little farther up the road. Home at 6:40 a.m.

