Left for my walk at 5:10 a.m. It was 44 degrees out. Right outside my house I heard a TUFTED TITMOUSE, PHOEBE, HOUSE WREN, CHICKADEE, BLUE JAY, CATBIRD, ROSE-BREASTED GROSBEAK, ROBIN, VEERY, trill that sounds like a JUNCO, OVENBIRD, and NUTHATCH. At Blood’s I heard a WINTER WREN, BARRED OWL, and LOUISIANA WATERTHRUSH. At the Big Bend I heard a BLACK-THROATED GREEN WARBLER, HERMIT THRUSH, YELLOW-BELLIED SAPSUCKER, COMMON YELLOWTHROAT, BLACKBURNIAN WARBLER, and BLACK-THROATED BLUE WARBLER. Got to the Nature Center parking lot at 5:45 a.m. and heard a trill that sounded more like a CHIPPING SPARROW than a junco. Also heard a WOOD THRUSH, RED-EYED VIREO, CHESTNUT-SIDED WARBLER, and YELLOW-RUMPED WARBLER. Got to the Lookout at 6:00 a.m. Heard a MOURNING DOVE on my way up and a HERMIT THRUSH while I was sitting on the bench. It was singing from off to my left. There’s mist in the valley this morning, the sky is gray, and Camels Hump is behind clouds. The woods are dripping even though it’s not raining. Heard what a think was the trill of a JUNCO. I wish my ears were better at telling JUNCOS and CHIPPING SPARROWS apart. On my way to Lichen Rock I heard a BLUE-HEADED VIREO and think I heard a SCARLET TANAGER — first of season. At Lichen Rock a WINTER WREN sang me a beautiful song just as I arrived at 6:30 a.m. Back to road at 6:45 and home at 6:55 a.m.

