It’s 26 degrees at 5:20 a.m. From my stone wall, I heard a COMMON YELLOWTHROAT, CARDINAL, CHICKADEE, HOUSE WREN, CHESTNUT-SIDED WARBLER, PHOEBE, EVENING GROSBEAK, and BLUE JAY. Along the road I heard a trill that I think was a JUNCO, an OVENBIRD, HERMIT THRUSH, BLACK-THROATED GREEN WARBLER, WINTER WREN, BLACKBURNIAN WARBLER (I think), BLACK-THROATED BLUE WARBLER, YELLOW-BELLIED SAPSUCKER, and MOURNING DOVE. Got to the Nature Center at 5:45 a.m. Heard a GOLDFINCH and ROBIN. Frost on the Nature Center’s side lawn again this morning. Heard a NUTHATCH and a song that sounded like a SONG SPARROW. Now I’ve got myself wondering if the song I’ve been calling a NASHVILLE WARBLER is actually a SONG SPARROW? I’m losing my confidence. I wonder what’s going on? Got to the Lookout at 6:00 a.m. I can hear a HERMIT THRUSH from here. Also a BROWN CREEPER. Camel’s Hump is bold and clear this morning. Not a cloud in the sky. Sun is just about to appear above Mayo Mountain. Got to Lichen Rock at 6:20 a.m. Yesterday, during the Nature Conservancy’s field trip, I learned about how long it takes for vegetation to grow on rocks, and I’ve decided I need to be more respectful of the mosses, etc. that are growing on Lichen Rock. So this morning I’m standing in the leaf litter on the back side of the rock. I do want to stand on this huge old rock and feel its solid earth-presence beneath me, but I don’t want to interfere with the natural processes that it supports. Or maybe I should declare myself a natural process, which I am for the most part at this hour of the morning, and include myself among the organisms that grow oh so slowly here. I wonder if there’s any bare rock I could stand on? I found two outcropping of exposed rock, but I had to walk across quite a bit of vegetation to get to them. Both were near the upturned root pancakes of trees (hemlocks?) that had blown over. I think maybe I  should stick to the leaf litter? That way maybe my passing can contribute to the soil formation that will eventually support more vegetation? On my way down to the road at 6:45 a.m. I can hear BLUE JAYS or maybe CROWS (?) mobbing something. I think I hear a BLACKBURNIAN WARBLER. Also a SOLITARY (BLUE-HEADED) VIREO. Home at 7:00 a.m.

