6:35 a.m.: 65 degrees , mostly cloudy. Wind 14 mph from the East/Southeast. Forecast: isolated thunder storms and wind. CIVIL TWILIGHT begins at 7:00 a.m., SUNRISE at 7:25 a.m., SUNSET at 6:04 p.m., CIVIL TWILIGHT ends at 6:29 p.m. MOONRISE at 12:29 p.m., MOONSET at 2:50 a.m. (tomorrow), waxing gibbous 63% illuminated. TIDES: low 2:10 a.m., high 8:52 a.m., low 1:18 p.m., high 7:33 p.m.

7:10 a.m. at the Fishing Pier: Around civil twilight the sky showed some pinkish tan, but by the time I got to the end of the pier, there were some pretty pinks above the wide band of gray along the horizon. The colors shift and change, spread out and diffuse faster than I can describe them, which is as it should be. Sunrise and sunsets don’t happen to described — they should be witnessed, experienced, enjoyed, watched for pure pleasure. I guess all my describing is just my own way of staying attentive.

7:23 a.m. at the Town Beach: 1 WILLET, 2 “one-ringed” PLOVERS. I began walking very slowly toward them, and they kept moving along ahead of me, leading me halfway down the beach before the PLOVERS flew up and away. The WILLET kept on moving until it got to a clump of seaweed, where it stopped and began picking at it. I didn’t want to disturb it, so I stopped too. I noticed lots of GULLS flying around in front of Cedar Cove and wanted to see what was going on down there, so I walked carefully by the WILLET, which stayed at the clump of seaweed. I finally saw the sun through a few wispy clouds when it was well above the horizon. When I got to the Cedar Cove rocks I noticed another SMALL SHOREBIRD: tippy, white below, brown on both sides of upper breast, brown back and head, hint of light eyebrows, grayish legs, longish, sharp-looking bill with maybe a slight downturn at the sharp tip (SPOTTED SANDPIPER?)

