6:15 a.m.: It’s 55 degrees with a 15 mph wind from the East/Northeast. The forecast calls for partly cloudy. CIVIL TWILIGHT begins at 7:00 a.m., SUNRISE 7:25 a.m., SUNSET 6:03 p.m., CIVIL TWILIGHT ends at 6:28 p.m.  MOON ENTERED ITS FIRST QUARTER at 5:53 a.m. this morning, MOONRISE 11:48 a.m.,  MOONSET 1:47 a.m. (tomorrow).  TIDES: low 12:55 a.m., high 7:12 a.m., low 12:17 p.m., high 6:32 p.m.

6:50 a.m. at the Fishing Pier: It’s really windy this morning. I walked out to the end of the pier and turned left to walk straight into it. I wouldn’t want to be out on the water today! 7:05 a.m.: Got to the Town Beach. It was too cold and windy to sit on the bench, so I walked the full length of the beach clear down to the Cedar Cove rocks. No shorebirds. All I saw was 3 brave DUCKS bobbing in the rough water just out from Cedar Cove. I also noticed a small flock of BLACK SKIMMERS. Walking back down the beach I saw 2 SANDERLINGS.

7:30 a.m.: Walked back down to Kona Joe’s for a second cup of coffee. The whirligig at the boat launch was whirling so fast it caught my attention as I walked by. I wonder if it’s an anemometer? The sky has been gray throughout my wanderings. It’s gotten lighter out, but otherwise it’s a gray and windy day. At Kona Joe’s I overheard a fisherman saying that a DEAD DOLPHIN washed in the day it was so rainy and windy (Jan 21?)

