1:00 p.m. in Winooski. At the cascades there are 6 BROWN DUCKS hanging out with the GULLS today. As I continued along the Riverwalk, I saw 2 GREAT BLUE HERONS fly out of the lagoon and over the river. One headed upstream, and the other looped around and flew back into the lagoon. I looked for it but didn’t see it when I got to the lagoon. I did see a KINGFISHER (I think) as I was scanning the perimeter. The bird was hidden by leaves and wasn’t making any noise, so I can’t be sure, but I saw some blue and white. Could it have been a silent BLUE JAY? I’m hearing a CATBIRD. Decided to hike around the marsh today. Saw a PHOEBE by the I-89 bridge.  At 1:35 p.m. I’m starting on the trail that skirts the marsh. At 1:40 p.m. I got to the clearing under the power lines. Heard 2 CATBIRDS. Some CEDAR WAXWINGS flew overhead just as I got to the far side of the clearing. When I entered the woods, I heard and caught a glimpse of an agitated PILEATED WOODPECKER. At 1:50 p.m. I got to the open water. Didn’t see any ducks today. At 1:55 p.m. I got to Route 15. So it takes about 20 minutes to walk the marsh trail and about 45 minutes to walk from the cascades to the Route 15 parking lot.

