According to Webster’s 11th, the word BACKWATER was introduced to the English language in 1629. Its first meaning is “water backed up in its course by an obstruction, an opposing current, or the tide,” The word LAGOON found its way into the English language by way of French and Italian in 1673. Its first meaning is “a shallow sound, channel, or pond near or communicating with a larger body of water.” So, I’m thinking the body of water that flows into the Winooski River near the end of the Riverwalk is a LAGOON, and I’ll try to remember to use that word when I refer to it.

11:20 a.m. in Winooski: I’m wandering along the LAGOON at the end of the Riverwalk. I saw a GREAT BLUE HERON today and heard a KINGFISHER. Also heard GOLDFINCHES, two COMMON YELLOWTHROATS, and a SONG SPARROW. Saw a KINGBIRD and ROBINS. Heard a CATBIRD and WARBLING VIREO. Noticed a biggish ROBIN WITH A SPECKLED BREAST, so I think my robins are a family group. This lagoon is fed by water from the big CATTAIL/PHRAGMITES MARSH I’ve been observing from the trail up to Route 15. The water is actually flowing audibly where I’m standing–above the culvert that passes under the service road that leads from the construction zone out to the grassy field. 11:40 a.m. Entering the woods at the far side of the grassy field. I can see a bit of CATTAIL MARSH from back here. I saw the GREAT BLUE HERON AGAIN standing in the open water at the edge of the marsh.

