Bob and I decided to mark all four GOSHAWK TREES before we forget when they nested where. NEST #1 (2006) is in a BIG WHITE PINE (so big I can’t reach around it myself) near the top of the old fencerow marked by dead BUTTERNUTS. It’s right beside the Red Trail that passes through this area. We marked it with ONE WHITE RIBBON. (NOTE: The nest is right above Station 8A of Laura Farrell’s UVM Wildlife Detection Study.) I heard a SCARLET TANAGER and OVENBIRD when we were walking away in the direction of the second nest. Also a HERMIT THRUSH in the distance. NEST #2 (2007) is in another biggish (but not as big as Year #1) WHITE PINE growing among the RED PINES near the Yellow-and-White Trail/Red Trail intersection. It’s also near one of Matt Kolan’s point count points. We marked this nest tree with TWO WHITE RIBBONS. I’m hearing a BLACKBURNIAN WARBLER, BROWN CREEPER, and OVENBIRD in the area. NEST #3 (2008) is once again in a BIG WHITE PINE (I can’t reach around it) right on the Yellow-and-White Trail not far from the Retreat. It’s a big nest easily seen from the trail. We marked it with THREE WHITE RIBBONS. NEST #4 (2009) is in another WHITE PINE that’s smaller than any of the others they chose. It’s also out in the middle of the woods a distance from the trails, but it’s visible between a pair of twin RED PINES along the Yellow-and-White Trail between nests #2 and #3. This nest seems flimsier than the other nests. While we were walking around looking for the GOSHAWK NESTS, I noticed that PARTRIDGEBERRY is BLOOMING — TWINFLOWERS that will become TWINBERRIES later in the season.

LATER: When I was driving up to Highland Lodge, I noticed that the female SUMACS have light green flower heads at the tips of their branches. I wonder if these are the flowers in bud or the flowers themselves?

