4:30 p.m. Decided to hike down to BLOOD’S CHUTE, cross the brook there, and circle back home by way of my Retreat, but the water was too high. After all the rain we’ve been having, the brook was boiling. So I paused to watch and listen–I do love the sound of moving water, even at this volume–and then climbed the steep bank to my Twin Trees, where I stopped to rest, but the ground was too wet to sit there very long. I continued up to the plateau between the two gullies and on up to the road near my old green boundary stake. Home at 5:00 p.m.

5:40 p.m.: I heard a SCARLET TANAGER singing behind my house. I stepped outdoors to look for it, and it moved from its hiding spot in the tallest maple on the back bank to an open perch on a smaller yellow birch. It’s now moving around and singing from various trees. I wonder if it’s nesting in one of them?

