Spotted a SNOWSHOE HARE just as I entered the woods at my end of the Den Trees Trail. Saw RED SQUIRRELS when I was walking down through the hemlock woods toward the far end of the Den Trees Trail, but they didn’t chatter at me tonight. The Lookout is magnificent right now. It’s been a cool, clear day after several days of heat, smaze, and other inconveniences. This is how I dream of Vermont. Sitting here at the Lookout, I feel that I could be happy living just this way, things exactly as they are, for the rest of my life. I’m not sure where the restlessness I feel on other days comes from. It’s about 3/4 of a mile from my house to Lookout Rock by way of the Den Trees Trail. It’s 1 mile exactly to the bench in the pine woods on the yellow rope trail. This is another very peaceful spot. I hear the ee-o-lay of a WOOD THRUSH nearby. There are at least two of them. About halfway down the River Bluff Trail, a CHICKADEE piped in about 5 feet from my head. It was perched on a low branch over the trail. I seem to have interrupted a little flock (a family?) of speckle-breasted birds. They flew up off the ground and chipped to each other from the trees. Were they WOOD THRUSHES? It’s about 1 and 1/2 miles to Horseshoe Bend by the trails I’m taking. Someone set up a bench along the river across from the caved in bank. The bench is made out of a huge, heavy bridge plank. There’s also a fire ring here. It’s about 2 miles to the Sand Beach by this long route I’m taking. There’s a gentle sunset tonight, colors reflected in the river. The Sand Beach is another of my peaceful spots, but tonight it’s  riddled with footprints–of both people and dogs. I also saw signs of a fire, cigarette butts, and other unpeaceful things. Home again by way of the Brook Trail with a spur trip to the Beaver Pond. My whole walk tonight was 2 and 3/4 miles.

